Know your limits!

This week has been awful for me. I got sick with a cold and was just feeling so bad. I really did not want to go to the gym because I felt all ache-y. But, my encouraging boyfriend made me go. I was sitting on the couch, coughing a little, thinking about how if I didn’t go, I would just be lazy for a good while. If I did go, even for a short easy run, I’d at least say I went. So I did.

When I say know your limits, if you really are feeling extremely sick, it’s okay to take a break. Just know when you feel a lot better, it’s time to hit the gym again. I eventually made it to the gym, but I only did 25 minutes on the elliptical and went home. I just figured at least I will get my body active and moving for a short while. I knew that if I had been lazy and not gone to the gym, I would make that the habit. It would all be downhill from there. I would probably start eating unhealthy again, because I would’ve been so lazy.

I did take a break from the gym the day after because my sickness got worse. But, after a good rest, I was ready to go back to the gym again. I am still taking it slow, but believe me, by next week I will be 100% and it will be time to go hard again!

It’s really important to keep your body healthy. If I had been aware of this, I could have been more proactive in making sure I do not get sick. Just because you feel sick, does not mean you should take a break from being healthy. Your body is still working, and so should you.

Leave a Reply

